Mental Health Charter

The Mental Health Charter was originally launched in 2008. It is a clear set of statements to show that every person has the right to mental health services that:

  • Work together with respect, dignity and compassion.
  • Make a positive difference to each person’s recovery and quality of life.
  • Are guided by the individual’s views about what they need and what helps them.
  • Treat everyone as a capable citizen who can make choices and take control of their own life.
  • Give people the appropriate information they need to make their own decisions and choices about their recovery.
  • Recognise that mental health services are only part of a person’s recovery.
  • Communicate with each person in the way that is right for them.
  • Understand that each person has a unique culture, life experiences and values.
  • Recognise, respect and support the role of carers.
  • Support their workers to do they jobs well.
  • Challenge stigma, fear and discrimination both within the mental health services and in the wider society.
  • Put mental health n a par with physical health.
  • Are culturally competent and can meet the diverse needs of local people.

Mental Health Charter Photo with Denise Chaney.

The Mental Health Charter has been signed by representatives from:

  1. Leicester City Council
  2. Leicestershire County Council
  3. Rutland County Council
  4. Leicestershire Partnership NHS Trust
  5. Leicester City Clinical Commissioning Group
  6. West Leicestershire Clinical Commissioning Group
  7. East Leicestershire and Rutland Clinical Commissioning Group
  8. Voluntary Sector Partnership Forum
  9. University Hospitals of Leicester
  10. Leicestershire Police
  11. East Midlands Ambulance Service NHS Trust


Mental Health Charter & Signatory Sheet